What to do when disappointed?

For some reason when I start writing blog I get into philosophizing. My every day mundane living takes on a philosophical , what can I learn from this happening attitude.

I wonder why I can’t be content with just writing down tips on how to crochet and be done with it. But no, here I have to share my “life experience as a business start up”

This is what happened:

Being so behind in my business goals I decided to invest in some inexpensive help ( my entire business budget is still $75 of which I have spend $41.65). A fellow crafter at Etsy announced being very experienced journalism and is offering a fact sheet/ condensed helpful hints/outline for press releases and free local advertising for $3 at her Etsy store. I decided that would save a lot of time, if I had just some outline to follow and get going fast to engage my local free advertising and the $3 dollars were well worth spend in the exchange of time conserved.

BALONEY! I got an e-mail of 5 paragraphs of stuff teenager knows about advertising and the press-corps. Very disappointing.

BUT: Here is what I learned: When my customers receive their purchased patterns they ALSO might be disappointed , because after all= everything is easy , once you know it. So that is when I had the great idea to make my patterns not only attractive and above average in explanation, but also collectible. What I mean by that: Not just will mu customers get the instruction HOW to make the item, but they will have a nice pattern to look at and go back to, so they through out are encouraged to finish the item ( especially since I offer the perk of picking a new pattern for free of equal value once they send me pictures of their finished item).

So this stupid e-mail of press release wasted money is the stepping stone to an even greater appeal for my pattern customers, makes me more satisfied to make this world a better place and thank God that I can serve people better and  live above average in whatever I do. And THAT makes me happy. It was always said: If life hands you lemons , make lemonade. mmmh hmmm good living!

And with that thought ’til next time!images

About Beate

I am the happy wife of 1 husband, mother of 3 grown, married children and 9 grandchildren, dedicated to making happiness with YOUR creativity. I am not much of a writer, but I certainly I overflow with great ideas with no time to carry them all out. I design crochet patterns and crochet greeting cards for fun and profit taking the art of crochet into the computer age with scrapbooked, collectable digitals, which makes our lives fun with a terrific end results.
This entry was posted in On a personal note and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What to do when disappointed?

  1. bekswhoknits says:

    There are opportunities everywhere if you look for them.

    I would have been so cross with myself I probably wouldn’t have seen the lesson.

    • Ain’t easy finding fun in this life, since it seems we are being ripped off everywhere we go. But I been around the block for 60 years and have learned not to live on the short end of the stick, with God’s help of course. Now I am looking forward how this theory pans out. Be blessed!

  2. Great article! We will be linking to this great content on our website.
    Keep up the great writing.

  3. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

    • Beate says:

      Hi Hermelinda: I have NO problems with hackers, because God is in control in my life. I had problems with thieves,who stole my patterns, but He fixed that. I watermark my patterns, my pictures and so on. That way they are useless to someone, who wants to steal. What I write about will get to the destination and I hope to help as many people as I can to get with it and be happy. I am not concerned about things that are inconsequential. I have a back up on Icloud with everything important for my grandchildren I write, because some are too little to understand yet. Be blessed!

  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

    • Beate says:

      It is just the free theme WordPress provided. Theme 23 I think. The banner and the logo for the Avatar I designed for my Etsy shop. I thank you for your complement. Thanks for the complement. I am not much help, when it comes to internet stuff, since I only know 1/2 the time what I am doing. Just opened my business in February and have everything to learn.

Leave a comment