Procrastination

images-3

 

Procrastination is a very common approach for any job and very excusable in this hurried time we live.

There is one problem: Our life goes on and our family is growing and since life is finite TIME is of the essence.
Brainstorming how procrastination, lethargy and  ”dawdling”  can be over come is a great hobby of mine. I always live in the present and have more ideas than time to get things done, I come to the conclusion I have to set goals to accomplish everything. So I set goals for different ideas.
MY  plan for goal setting is always the same:
1. I pray about my idea. See  if it is God‘s will for me to pursue. That is the most important thing, because if it is God’s goal also, He will help me to obtain that goal
2. I specify my goal. I could say: ” It would be nice to have…..” or ” May be I should……”  or ” Someone could use a ……” However by not allowing generalization it  helps to break down specific steps to reach the goal.
Example: Make a birthday present for my family member. There are 3 specific things defined by this goal: 1. activity ( Make) 2. Date of birthday ( timing) 3. Person
3. The date is fixed so we break down how much time I have to make the present. Divide the time per day and than per available hours. That will determine what kind of present I have time to make.
4. Look at the likes of that person. Make a list of interest and likes.That will determine what item to make.
5. Select the item by time available and likes and start working in the designated time slots.
6. Plan at what time a day you will pursue your goal.
7. Since action is required, every day work the allotted hours on the project. If you are really bad on procrastinating you could make a check off list for all your goals throughout the day. As you look at the chart you stay in motion and don’t get side tracked.
If you should get sidetracked try to “experience” your goal, by envisioning the outcome, like in my example the awe and joy of your family member you made the present  for. The surprise accomplished to honor them at their special day. The satisfaction of the accomplishment to see your creation finished. If you are into people admiring you, you can envision that too.
These steps will work for anything: weight loss, cleaning, traveling to exotic places, any unfinished project……
1. Pray
2. Specify
3.  Analyze
4. Break down the steps
5. Timetable
6. Set specific time a day
7. Action
Tata! Pat yourself on the back, when you did a great job, since God is pleased when you accomplish your goals making a difference in someone’s life.

images-1

 

About Beate

I am the happy wife of 1 husband, mother of 3 grown, married children and 9 grandchildren, dedicated to making happiness with YOUR creativity. I am not much of a writer, but I certainly I overflow with great ideas with no time to carry them all out. I design crochet patterns and crochet greeting cards for fun and profit taking the art of crochet into the computer age with scrapbooked, collectable digitals, which makes our lives fun with a terrific end results.
This entry was posted in Victorious living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment